20 Students Cited for Underage Drinking at Beach | NECN
Rhode Island

Rhode Island

The latest news from around the state

20 Students Cited for Underage Drinking at Beach

    processing...

    NEWSLETTERS

    20 Students Cited for Underage Drinking at Beach
    necn

    Rhode Island officials say 20 high school students, all aged 17 or 18, were cited for underage alcohol possession during an ongoing beach drinking enforcement effort. 

    Westerly Police Capt. Shawn Lacey tells the Westerly Sun many of the students cited were at the beach before prom, which is common for this time of the year. 

    Lacey says 12 people were cited Tuesday morning at Misquamicut State Beach, and 8 were cited later that afternoon along East Beach. 

    State law states alcohol possession for those between 18 and 21 carries a minimum penalty of a $200 contribution to charity, 20 hours of community service and a 60-day loss of their license. 

    Police say beach enforcement is funded through a state grant by the Westerly Substance Abuse Prevention Task Force.

    Get the latest from necn anywhere, anytime

    • Download the App

      Available for IOS and Android