Jason Varitek, Tim Wakefield, Ira Flagstead, Larry Lucchino To Be Inducted Into Red Sox Hall of Fame

Jason Varitek
FILE - Getty Images

Jason Varitek, Tim Wakefield, Ira Flagstead and Larry Lucchino will be inducted into the Red Sox Hall of Fame in 2016. 

Red Sox President/CEO Larry Lucchino has been chosen as the non-uniformed inductee. 

David Ortiz's 2013 game-tying grand slam in Game 2 of the American League Championship Series against the Detroit Tigers has been selected as the "Great Red Sox Moment." 

Varitek, a three-time All-Star, was a Gold Glove and Silver Slugger-winning catcher for the Sox, leading the team to World Series Championships in 2004 and 2007. 

Wakefield spent 17 seasons with the Sox (1995-2011), four more than any other pitcher in club history. 

Flagstead played parts of seven seasons with the Sox from 1923-29. 

Lucchino was President and CEO during a 14-year stretch when the Sox won three World Championships. 

The newest members of the Red Sox Hall will be inducted on May 19 as part of an awards gala hosted by the Red Sox Foundation at the Sheraton Boston Hotel. 

The gala is open to the public. Click here for event details. 

The group will also be celebrated at Fenway Park during a pregame ceremony before the Red Sox-Indians game on May 20. 

Contact Us