Your Guide to Today's Local Elections in Mass.

Voters in 58 Massachusetts cities and towns will head to the polls Tuesday to vote in municipal elections. Here's a guide to today's elections. 

What's at stake? 

Boston, the state’s largest city, will vote to elect city councilors. Eight candidates are running for four councilor-at-large seats, including incumbents Michael Flaherty, Althea Garrison, Annisa Essaibi George and Michelle Wu. David Halbert, Julia Mejia, Erin Murphy and Alejandra Nicole St. Guillen are also competing in the race.

Additionally, five districts have races with two candidates each. City Councilor Andrea Joy Campbell of District 4 faces a challenge from Jeff Durham; Roy Owens Sr. is taking on incumbent Kim Janey in District 7. Ricardo Arroyo and Maria Esdale Farrell are competing for District 5; Priscilla Kenzie Bok and Jennifer Ann Nassour are seeking the seat in District 8; and Liz Rearon and Craig Cashman are vying to represent District 9.

Boston voters will also answer a non-binding question of whether they support renaming Dudley Square to Nubian Square.

Meanwhile, mayoral races will take place in Worcester, Springfield, Somerville, Medford and Fall River. Fall River’s race comes after incumbent Jasiel Correia dropped out of the race last month amid a slew of legal woes.

If you are unsure where to cast your ballot, click here.

Here is a list of Bay State towns and cities that are hosting municipal elections on Tuesday, according to their polling hours:

Open from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m.

  • Amesbury;
  • Amherst;
  • Attleboro;
  • Barnstable;
  • Beverly;
  • Boston;
  • Braintree;
  • Brockton;
  • Cambridge;
  • Chelsea;
  • Easthampton;
  • Easton;
  • Everett;
  • Fall River;
  • Fitchburg;
  • Framingham;
  • Franklin;
  • Gardner;
  • Gloucester;
  • Greenfield;
  • Haverhill;
  • Holyoke;
  • Lawrence;
  • Leominster;
  • Lowell;
  • Lynn;
  • Malden;
  • Marlborough;
  • Medford;
  • Melrose;
  • New Bedford;
  • Newburyport;
  • Newton;
  • Northampton;
  • Peabody;
  • Quincy;
  • Randolph;
  • Revere;
  • Salem;
  • Saugus;
  • Somerville;
  • Springfield;
  • Taunton;
  • Waltham;
  • Watertown;
  • Weymouth;
  • Winthrop;
  • Woburn;
  • Worcester;
  • Yarmouth;

Open from 8 a.m. to 8 p.m.

  • Agawam
  • Pittsfield
  • West Springfield

Open from noon to 8 p.m.

  • Lakeville

Open from 9 a.m. to 7 p.m.

  • North Adams
Contact Us