Watch 2016 New Year's Eve Celebrations Around the World - NECN
National & International News
The day’s top national and international news

Watch 2016 New Year's Eve Celebrations Around the World

    processing...

    NEWSLETTERS

    New Year's Eve celebrations around the world kicked off amid a boosted security presence in many countries.

    NBC News is livestreaming fireworks displays in major cities at the below times: 

    6 a.m. ET: New Zealand welcomes 2016 with a fireworks show in Auckland.

    8 a.m. ET: Sydney, Australia, hosts its annual fireworks spectacular.

    10 a.m. ET: Japanese revelers countdown to 2016 at an ancient temple in Tokyo.

    11 a.m. ET: Hong Kong celebrates with a fireworks display over Victoria Harbour.

    11 a.m. ET: Taiwan welcomes 2016 with a fireworks display at Taipei 101 building.

    12 p.m. ET: Thailand hosts a New Year's fireworks display in Bangkok. 

    3 p.m ET: Fireworks on the Burj Khalifa light up the Dubai night sky in the United Arab Emirates. (The live video was canceled after a high-rise luxury hotel burst into flames nearby.)

    4 p.m. ET: Russian crowds celebrate at midnight in Moscow's Red Square.

    5 p.m. ET: Cape Town, South Africa, rings in 2016.  

    5 p.m. ET: Cairo, Egypt, lights up the pyramids with a fireworks display.

    6 p.m. ET: Berlin, Germany, holds its New Year celebrations at the Brandenburg Gate.

    7 p.m. ET London's Big Ben rings in the New Year for the United Kingdom.

    11 p.m. ET Brazilians in Rio de Janeiro welcome 2016.