Boston Marathon Champs to Return to Defend Their Titles

Last year’s Boston Marathon champions Desiree Linden, Yuki Kawauchi, Tatyana McFadden and Marcel Hug will return to defend their titles for the 2019 Boston Marathon on April 15.

"At Boston this year, Desiree Linden, Yuki Kawauchi, Tatyana McFadden and Marcel Hug proved freezing rain and driving wind were no match for the opportunity to be crowned Boston Marathon champions," Barbara Goose, John Hancock's chief marketing officer, said in a statement for Monday's announcement. "Their perseverance and tenacity led the way for thousands of runners to realize their own dreams. We look forward to welcoming back our champions as well as all participants and spectators for another historic race on Patriots' Day."

Two-time U.S. Olympian Linden won the 2018 Boston Marathon despite rain and wind. Linden’s victory marked the first time in 33 years that an American woman earned the open division title.

At this year’s Marathon, Kawauchi became the first Japanese winner since 1987 – the same year he was born.

Hug, a Swiss athlete powered away from 10-time Boston champion Ernst van Dyk to capture this year’s Boston Marathon title.

McFadden returns after winning five of the last six women’s wheelchair crowns in Boston. McFadden had a 15 minute and 22 second victory this year and powered through difficult weather conditions to cross the finish line at 2:04:39.

Contact Us