Massachusetts Firefighters Recognized at Annual 'Firefighter of the Year' Awards - NECN


The latest news from around the state

Massachusetts Firefighters Recognized at Annual 'Firefighter of the Year' Awards



    'Firefighter of the Year' Awards Recognize Multiple Crews

    Firefighters from multiple communities were recognized Tuesday morning by Massachusetts officials at the 28th annual "Firefighter of the Year" Awards.

    (Published Tuesday, Nov. 21, 2017)

    Firefighters from multiple communities were recognized Tuesday morning by Massachusetts officials at the 28th annual "Firefighter of the Year" Awards.

    The event at Mechanics Hall in Worcester recognized firefighters from Boston, Braintree, Brockton, Brookline, Cambridge, Canton, Dedham, Douglas, Gill, Hyannis, Holyoke, Lawrence, Lowell, Mansfield, Middleborough, Norwood, Pittsfield, Turners Fall, Uxbridge, Walpole, Watertown, Wellesley and Westwood.

    "The Commonwealth’s firefighters make tremendous sacrifices and risk their lives on a regular basis to protect the members of their communities," said Gov. Charlie Baker. "We are proud to salute this year’s award recipients, who drew upon their training and experience to perform remarkable acts that saved lives."

    In addition, the Stephen D. Coan Fire Marshal Award will be presented to the members of the Western Massachusetts Safety and Fire Education Association which includes injury prevention professionals and firefighters from Agawam, Belchertown, Chicopee, Hatfield, Holyoke, Northampton, Orange, Palmer, South Hadley, Southwick, Springfield, and Ware.

    "The members of the Western Massachusetts Safety and Fire Education Association work tirelessly to improve the safety of residents in our four westernmost counties," said State Fire Marshal Peter J. Ostroskey. "Their use of the mutual aid model for public education allows them to accomplish more together."

    In all, 33 awards were presented.

    Medal of Honor:

    • Watertown – Firefighter Joseph A. Toscano, (posthumously)

    Medals of Valor:

    • Boston – Lt. Edward J. Glasheen
    • Braintree – Lt. James Lochiatto, Firefighter Mark McCabe, Firefighter Keith Walsh 
    • Brockton – Lieutenant Christopher O'Reilly, Firefighter Zachary S. Davis
    • Brookline – Captain Kevin Francis, Firefighter James Clinton
    • Holyoke – Truck 1: Lieutenant Philip Kraus, Firefighter Anthony Deroy, Firefighter Daniel Spafford
    • Mansfield – Captain John Terry, Firefighter/Paramedic Justin Sliney
    • Norwood – Lieutenant Jeffrey Campilio and Firefighter George Burton

    Norman Knight Award for Excellence in Community Service:

    • Lowell – Firefighter Kevin Jones
    • Uxbridge – Deputy Chief Steven R. Tancrell
    • Wellesley – Lieutenant Paul Delaney

    Individual Awards for Meritorious Conduct:

    • Douglas – Lieutenant Gerard Connell
    • Lawrence – Firefighter Peter Humphrey
    • Middleborough – Chief Lance Benjamino
    • Pittsfield – Lieutenant Michael D’Avella, Probationary Firefighter Jarrett Robitaille

    Group Awards for Meritorious Conduct:

    • Boston – Lieutenant Michael F. O'Connor, Acting Lieutenant Stephen V. Mark, Firefighter Robert E. Barrett, Firefighter William G. Carey, Firefighter Sean Connolly, Firefighter Gary R. Dardia, Firefighter Ronald J. Holmes, Firefighter Brian J. Kirk, Firefighter Nathaniel C. LeBlanc, Firefighter Michael J. McManus, Firefighter James T. Nee, , Firefighter Sean D. Shea.
    • Brockton – Firefighter Benjamin Denny, and Firefighter Victor A. Soto-Perez
    • Cambridge – Deputy Chief Michael J. Morrissey, Act. Deputy Chief Raymond E. Vaillancourt, Captain Charles M. Anderson, Captain Philip G. Arsenault, Captain Charles F. Murphy, Lieutenant Brian D. Albert, Lieutenant Thomas G. Cauchon, Lieutenant Michael A. Donovan, Lieutenant James A. Drewicz, Lieutenant Robert J. Jutras, Lieutenant David B. McKinley, Lieutenant Christopher J. Melendy, Lieutenant Kyle M. Schweinshaut, Act. Lieutenant Hugh F. Devlin, Act. Lieutenant Shawn P. Flanagan, Act. Lieutenant Ameer A. Moustafa, Act. Lieutenant John T. Pasquarello, Firefighter Matthew E. Ansello, Firefighter Murphy Aquaro, Firefighter William Barry Jr., Firefighter Zachary J. Bennett, Firefighter Renrick R. Clarke, Firefighter Laura J. Coipel, Firefighter Stephanie Crayton, Firefighter James M. Encalada, Firefighter Tyler D. English, Firefighter Silvio Estrada, Firefighter Richard M. Feliciano, Firefighter Reed M. Frailey, Firefighter Patrick D. Headley, Firefighter Richard Rycroft Jr., Firefighter Jeffrey C. Keefe, Firefighter James B. Kennedy, Firefighter Stephon B. Kinn, Firefighter John L. Magee, Firefighter Shayne McDonald, Firefighter Kyle J. McLaughlin, Firefighter John J. McMahon, Firefighter R. Nicholas Menard, Firefighter Cameron R. Moyer, Firefighter Daniel A. Nugent, Firefighter Clemente J. Pinto, Firefighter Jon W. Powers, Firefighter Adam M. Shuman, Firefighter Charles M. Stewart, Firefighter Robert F. Sullivan, Firefighter Aaron Young, Firefighter/Aide Robert A. Bruno, Firefighter/Aide Henry A. Sisco Jr.
    • Hyannis –  Captain William Rex, Lieutenant Jeff Lamothe, Lieutenant David Webb, Firefighter Wendy Austin, Firefighter John Dailey, Firefighter Paul Medeiros, Firefighter Chris Murphy, Firefighter Pete Nagorka, Firefighter Kyle Wiley.
    • Holyoke – Deputy Chief David O'Connor, Captain James Cadigan, Firefighter Lawrence Jackson Jr., and Firefighter James Tourigny.
    • Lowell - Captain Robert Beane, Lieutenant Sean Quealy, Firefighter Michael Dexter, Firefighter Matthew Newell, 
    • Turners Falls, Gill – Turners Falls: Captain Michael Currie, Gill: Firefighter Eric Vassar
    • Westwood, Canton, Dedham, & Walpole  - Westwood Fire Department: Captain/Paramedic Richard Cerullo, Lieutenant/EMT Michael Ford , Firefighter/Paramedic Ian Brown  Firefighter/Paramedic Michael Crawford, Firefighter/Paramedic Robert Kilroy, Firefighter/Paramedic Jordan Morgan, and Firefighter/Paramedic Craig Templeton.
    • Canton Fire Department: Captain/EMT Wendel Robery, Firefighter/EMT John Buckley, Firefighter/Paramedic Keith Flavin, Firefighter/EMT Jeff O'Brien.
    • Dedham Fire Department: Lieutenant/EMT Michael Huff, Firefighter Steven Burke, Firefighter/EMT Justin Callaghan, Firefighter Kevin O'Brien
    • Norwood Fire Department: Lieutenant/EMT David Hayes, Firefighter/Paramedic George Burton, Firefighter/Paramedic Brian Donoghue, Firefighter/Paramedic Chris Fuller, Firefighter/EMT Nick Murphy, Firefighter/Paramedic Pat Moloney.
    • Walpole Fire Department: Lieutenant/Paramedic David Emswiler, Firefighter/Paramedic Donavan Minutolo, Firefighter/EMT Thomas Morandi, Firefighter/Paramedic Christopher Shea.

    Stephen D. Coan Fire Marshal Award

    Western Massachusetts Safety and Fire Education Association

    • Chicopee Lieutenant Katherine Collins-Kalbaugh; 
    • Palmer Firefighter Laurie Rocco; 
    • Holyoke Lieutenant Maria Pelchar; 
    • Hatfield Firefighter’s Greg Dibrindisi and Edwin McGlew; 
    • Agawam Firefighter Pam Murphy; 
    • Northampton Firefighter Natalie Stollmyer; 
    • Southwick Fire Chief Russell Anderson and Fire Educator Lisa Anderson; Springfield Retired Lieutenant Neil Hawley and Firefighters Warren Barnett, Willie Spears, and Pablo Flores;
    • Belchertown Firefighter Craig Bodamer; 
    • Orange Firefighter Meaghan Ahearn
    • South Hadley District #1 Chief William Judd, ret., Lieutenant Jason Houle, Firefighter Evan Briant;
    • South Hadley District #2 Firefighter Donald May; 
    • Ware Deputy Chief Edward Wholch
    • Angela Erti, Angela’s Imprints
    • Kelly Kelly, BMC Healthnet
    • Loren Davine, NoFIRES

    Get the latest from necn anywhere, anytime

    • Download the App

      Available for IOS and Android