Maine's Tougher Hands-Free Driving Law Now in Effect - NECN
Maine

Maine

The latest news from around the state

Maine's Tougher Hands-Free Driving Law Now in Effect

Drivers in the Pine Tree State caught with an electronic device in their hands face a $50 fine now

    processing...

    NEWSLETTERS

    Maine's Tougher Hands-Free Driving Law Now in Effect
    NBC10

    A new Maine law that prohibits the use of hand-held phones and other devices while driving is now in effect.

    The new law adds restrictions to the state's rules against distracted driving. Police in Maine will begin enforcing new standards around the state starting Thursday.

    The law states that no one can operate a vehicle "while using, manipulating, talking into or otherwise interacting with a hand-held electronic device or mobile telephone." Fines begin at $50.

    Maine State Police spokesman Stephen McCausland says police agencies in the state have been "proactive in getting the word out and assisting drivers with the change." He said the new rules will mean converting to new technology that allows a driver to use a phone while keeping both hands on the wheel.

    Get the latest from necn anywhere, anytime

    • Download the App

      Available for IOS and Android