More Than 100 Ticketed for Cellphone Use

A new law took effect in October

More than 100 tickets have been issued in the first month of Vermont's new law on cellphone use while driving.

Motor Vehicle Department Commissioner Robert Ide says 130 drivers were pulled over for using an electronic device while driving in October. He says about 70 percent of them received warnings and the remainder were ticketed.

It's now illegal in Vermont for drivers to use cellphones or other electronic devices while driving unless those devices can be used hands-free.

Vermont is the 15th state to prohibit all drivers from using handheld cellphones while driving.

The fine, including fees, for a first offense is $162.

Copyright AP - Associated Press
Contact Us