Some New Hampshire police departments such as Manchester are taking part in the "Join the New Hampshire Clique Seatbelt Campaign" this month to promote safety among teen drivers and young passengers.
Officers are working patrols that focus on occupants of motor vehicles not in compliance with state seatbelt law. The law requires drivers and passengers under the age of 18 to be properly restrained with a seat or safety belt.
There are also age and height requirements for children to be properly secured in a child restraint system while riding in a motor vehicle. The penalty for a first offense is $50 and $100 for a second or subsequent offense.
The campaign is sponsored by the state Highway Safety Agency.